Aviation for Women

SEP-OCT 2018

Aviation for Women is the flagship member publication of Women in Aviation International. Articles feature women who have made aviation history, professional development ideas, and current-topic articles.

Issue link: https://afwdigital.epubxp.com/i/1014503

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 4 of 52

2 AviationforWomen S E P T E M B E R / O C T O B E R 2 0 1 8 Membership, WAI Merchandise Sue Coon New Member Services Manager scoon@wai.org Stephanie Gordon Renewal Services Manager Conference Registration sgordon@wai.org Aviaton for Women Magazine Aviaton for Girls Magazine Kelly Murphy Director of Communications kmurphy@wai.org • 703-967-8113 Conference Kerisa Citro Director of Conferences and Events kcitro@wai.org C O N T A C T U S • P H O N E : 9 3 7 - 8 3 9 - 4 6 4 7 EducaƟon, Industry RelaƟons Cassandra Bosco Education and Industry Relations Director cbosco@wai.org • 202-415-2798 Chapters, Volunteers, Girls in AviaƟon Day Molly Martin Outreach Director mmartin@wai.org • 850-508-8769 Christine Culver Chapter Relations Specialist cculver@wai.org Art and Photography Nancy Bink Senior Art Director nbink@wai.org Scholarships, Exhibitors Donna Wallace Scholarship Coordinator/Exhibitor Coordinator dwallace@wai.org Business Development Jennifer Saddler Thomas Business Development Manager jthomas@wai.org • 740-819-0471 Everything Else Connie Lawrence Operations Manager/Executive Assistant clawrence@wai.org Dr. Peggy Chabrian President and CEO pchabrian@wai.org Summer Memories and Fall Planning D R . P E G G Y C H A B R I A N Dear WAI members: What a fantastic summer for WAI and its mem- bers. During EA A AirVenture Oshkosh in Wis- consin, July 23-29, we celebrated the 11th annual WomenVenture event with a record turnout, and more than 400 individuals attended our WAI Connect Breakfast. WAI staff and members could be found speaking in forums, exhibiting at vari- ous events, participating in many of the activities during the week, and were particularly noticeable on Wednesday while wearing their red Women- Venture T-shirts. During a press conference in Oshkosh fea- turing Dr. Ellen Stofan, the new director of the National Air and Space Museum, and an invit- ed speaker for our 2019 conference, it was an- nounced that Sean D. Tucker's Oracle airplane would be soon joining the collection of historic aircraft in the museum. Sean was there as well, and in his remarks, recognizing the importance of reaching youth for aviation he specifically called out WAI's efforts to increase the participa- tion of women in aviation including our Girls in Aviation Day program. As this issue goes to press, we are finalizing many of the details for our upcoming Girls in Avi- ation Day (GIAD) on October 13, coordinating materials to send to the WAI chapters hosting a GIAD event in their local area, securing corpo- rate partners to offset the costs of these materi- als, and responding to inquiries about suggested activities for those planning an event. Speaking of planning, the WAI staff is already gearing up for our 30-year anniversary confer- ence in Long Beach, California. Tours of local aviation companies are in the works, as well as tours of popular sites of Southern California. The Professional Women Controllers (PWC) are hold- ing their annual conference in connection with our event in 2019. They will be joining us on Fri- day, March 15, to participate in our luncheon, ed- ucation sessions, and exhibit hall. Well-known industry leaders, motivational speakers, pro- fessional development sessions, and fun social events are also in the planning stages. If you've never attended one of our annual conferences, this is the year to attend! And if you've never been to Southern California, why not plan to arrive a day or two early and take advantage of the many tour options we will be offering? In this issue, you will find new scholarship an- nouncements that were not yet available when the last issue was printed. The deadline date for 2019 scholarships this year is November 12. To all of the student members of WAI, I wish you a successful academic year, and I look for- ward to meeting several of our chapter members this fall during my travels and other members at aviation events. Sincerely, Dr. Peggy Chabrian, President P R E S I D E N T ' S L E T T E R Jon Ross Photog R a P hy I enjoyed attending the PWC annual conference in Washington, D.C., and visiting with Patti Wilson, PWC president.

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Aviation for Women - SEP-OCT 2018