Aviation for Women

JAN-FEB 2018

Aviation for Women is the flagship member publication of Women in Aviation International. Articles feature women who have made aviation history, professional development ideas, and current-topic articles.

Issue link: https://afwdigital.epubxp.com/i/915381

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 4 of 52

2 AviationforWomen J A N U A R Y / F E B R U A R Y 2 0 1 8 Membership, WAI Merchandise Sue Coon Member Services Manager scoon@wai.org Stephanie Gordon Member Specialist sgordon@wai.org AviaƟon for Women Magazine Kelly Murphy Director of Communications kmurphy@wai.org • 703-967-8113 EducaƟon, Industry RelaƟons Cassandra Bosco Education and Industry Relations Director cbosco@wai.org • 202-415-2798 C O N T A C T U S • P H O N E : 9 3 7 - 8 3 9 - 4 6 4 7 The National Aeronautic Association 2017 Fall Awards Dinner gave me and other WAI members a chance to personally con- gratulate Phil Woodruff, WAI 45913, on receiving a Distinguished Statesman of Aviation Award. Chapters, Volunteers, Girls in AviaƟon Day Molly Martin Outreach Director mmartin@wai.org • 850-508-8769 Christine Culver Chapter Relations Specialist cculver@wai.org Conference Kerisa Citro Director of Conferences and Events kcitro@wai.org Brooke Hartwig Conference and Events Assistant bhartwig@wai.org Art and Photography Nancy Bink, Senior Art Director nbink@wai.org Scholarships Donna Wallace, Scholarship Coordinator/Conference Registration dwallace@wai.org Business Development Jennifer Saddler Thomas Business Development Manager jthomas@wai.org • 740-819-0471 Everything Else Connie Lawrence Operations Manager/Executive Assistant clawrence@wai.org Dr. Peggy Chabrian President and CEO pchabrian@wai.org Bigger and Better Changes for 2018 D R . P E G G Y C H A B R I A N Dear WAI Members, Where did 2017 go? Those were the words that crossed my mind when turning on my laptop to write this letter. What used to be our "slow time" has now become the second busiest part of the year with the focus on our chapters and the now annual Girls in Aviation Day. And what an exciting year in 2017 to see the number of girls we reached t hrough t his initiative double in one year's time—to nearly 10,000! We've made the decision to move GIAD2018 to October from September. One of the reasons for this change is to provide a better opportunity for our collegiate chapters to hold an event. Since many of these chapters do not meet over the summer, this gives our college members more time to plan GIAD as they begin their new academic year. And speaking of changes for 2018, you'll see plenty of improvements and upgrades during our annual conference in Reno this March. For one, the closing banquet that has been a mostly formal affair is being changed to a fun, buffet style meal, beginning earlier in the evening, and formal at- tire is no longer required. Keeping with the theme of Connect. Engage. Inspire., the Closing Celebra- tion, as it's been renamed, will allow you to con- tinue to network with other attendees and not just nine other people at a table for the evening. A wonderful lineup of inspirational and trail- blazing speakers will certainly recharge your bat- teries for months to come. An Olympic athlete hit by a truck while riding her bike who was told she'd never walk again learned to fly during her re- covery period and is now a motivational speaker. We actually have several pioneering speakers this year representing many facets of the aviation in- dustry. Scheduled events include an open forum on "what's happening with drones" on Friday eve- ning, tour on Wednesday where you can explore beautiful Lake Tahoe and stroll through an old Western town and enjoy lunch, tour on Thursday to see firsthand the U.S. Navy's Top Gun School. You can experience Minute Mentoring (similar to speed dating where you will interact with several mentors for a few minutes each), attend education sessions over myriad topics from professional and personal development to safety to careers to finan- cial information and more. You'll also have plenty of opportunities to interact during the many social events planned, and much more! If you haven't made plans yet I encourage you to register soon for this inspiring and fun conference. I want to thank all of you who donated to the 2017 Annual Fund over the past few months. Your generosity allows us to provide some of the educa- tional programs and scholarships we offer. Wishing all of you a successful 2018! Dr. Peggy Chabrian President P R E S I D E N T ' S L E T T E R The Closing Celebration will allow you to continue to network with other attendees. PETER CUT TS

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Aviation for Women - JAN-FEB 2018