Aviation for Women

MAR-APR 2018

Aviation for Women is the flagship member publication of Women in Aviation International. Articles feature women who have made aviation history, professional development ideas, and current-topic articles.

Issue link: https://afwdigital.epubxp.com/i/943881

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 4 of 84

2 AviationforWomen M A R C H / A P R I L 2 0 1 8 Membership, WAI Merchandise Sue Coon New Member Services Manager scoon@wai.org Stephanie Gordon Renewal Services Manager sgordon@wai.org AviaƟon for Women Magazine Kelly Murphy Director of Communications kmurphy@wai.org • 703-967-8113 EducaƟon, Industry RelaƟons Cassandra Bosco Education and Industry Relations Director cbosco@wai.org • 202-415-2798 C O N T A C T U S • P H O N E : 9 3 7 - 8 3 9 - 4 6 4 7 Chapters, Volunteers, Girls in AviaƟon Day Molly Martin Outreach Director mmartin@wai.org • 850-508-8769 Christine Culver Chapter Relations Specialist cculver@wai.org Conference Kerisa Citro Director of Conferences and Events kcitro@wai.org Brooke Hartwig Conference and Events Assistant bhartwig@wai.org Art and Photography Nancy Bink, Senior Art Director nbink@wai.org Scholarships Donna Wallace, Scholarship Coordinator/Conference Registration dwallace@wai.org Business Development Jennifer Saddler Thomas Business Development Manager jthomas@wai.org • 740-819-0471 Everything Else Connie Lawrence Operations Manager/Executive Assistant clawrence@wai.org Dr. Peggy Chabrian President and CEO pchabrian@wai.org Congress Supports Women in Aviation D R . P E G G Y C H A B R I A N Dear WAI members: What an exciting time for members of our or- ganization. Two recent legislative bills, one in the Senate and one in the House of Representatives, titled Promoting Women in the Aviation Work- force Act of 2017, were signed in December. Ac- cording to a news release issued by Sen. Tammy Duckworth's (D-IL) office, this bipartisan legisla- tion would: • Express the sense of Congress that the aviation industry should explore all opportunities to en- courage and support women to pursue a career in aviation; • Direct the Federal Aviation Administration (FA A) to create and facilitate a Women in Avia- tion Advisory Board to promote organizations and programs that provide education, training, mentorship, outreach, and recruitment of wom- en in the aviation industry; and • Direct the FAA to submit a report to Congress on common trends that discourage women from pursuing aviation careers; expanding existing scholarship opportunities for women in aviation; and coordinating professional training and re- cruitment programs. The Senate bill cited Women in Aviation Inter- national's Girls in Aviation Day as a program that helps "young women be introduced to the differ- ent opportunities that are open to women in the aviation and aerospace industry." In addition, in the House of Representatives, Rep. Elizabeth Esty (CT-5-D), along with Rep. Steve Knight (CA-25-R), introduced the Women in Aerospace Education Act, designed to engage girls at a young age to enter fields that have his- torically had few women participating. I encourage you to attend your organization's annual conference—this year in Reno, Nevada, March 22-24. You can learn more about the in- spiring speakers, a busy exhibit hall with repre- sentatives from all segments of aviation, multiple opportunities to socialize and network, and a new session geared to the drone segment of avia- tion in our special conference program section of this issue starting on Page 23. At conference we are also unveiling an ad- ditional membership benefit—WAI Jobs Con- nect—featured on the members section of our website. Our corporate members are invited to post jobs and internships, and our members can visit this section to find jobs and internships in a variety of aviation segments. Be sure to check of- ten for your next career opportunity. Sincerely, Dr. Peggy Chabrian President P R E S I D E N T ' S L E T T E R Two recent legislative bills, one in the Senate and one in the House of Representatives, were signed in December. I was pleased to attend Shaesta Waiz's Dreams Soar DCA event hosted by Signature Flight Support.

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Aviation for Women - MAR-APR 2018