Aviation for Women

MAY-JUN 2018

Aviation for Women is the flagship member publication of Women in Aviation International. Articles feature women who have made aviation history, professional development ideas, and current-topic articles.

Issue link: https://afwdigital.epubxp.com/i/971871

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 4 of 52

2 AviationforWomen M A Y / J U N E 2 0 1 8 Membership, WAI Merchandise Sue Coon New Member Services Manager scoon@wai.org Stephanie Gordon Renewal Services Manager sgordon@wai.org AviaƟon for Women Magazine Kelly Murphy Director of Communications kmurphy@wai.org • 703-967-8113 EducaƟon, Industry RelaƟons Cassandra Bosco Education and Industry Relations Director cbosco@wai.org • 202-415-2798 C O N T A C T U S • P H O N E : 9 3 7 - 8 3 9 - 4 6 4 7 Chapters, Volunteers, Girls in AviaƟon Day Molly Martin Outreach Director mmartin@wai.org • 850-508-8769 Christine Culver Chapter Relations Specialist cculver@wai.org Conference Kerisa Citro Director of Conferences and Events kcitro@wai.org Art and Photography Nancy Bink, Senior Art Director nbink@wai.org Scholarships Donna Wallace, Scholarship Coordinator/Conference Registration dwallace@wai.org Business Development Jennifer Saddler Thomas Business Development Manager jthomas@wai.org • 740-819-0471 Everything Else Connie Lawrence Operations Manager/Executive Assistant clawrence@wai.org Dr. Peggy Chabrian President and CEO pchabrian@wai.org New Events at the WAI Conference D R . P E G G Y C H A B R I A N Dear WAI members: Our 29th annual conference is now behind us and what an amazing event it was—with an expanded exhibit hall that included a stage area for scholarship presentations, mini-seminars in the WAI membership area, flight simulators, a hypoxia chamber, WAI silent auction, and more than 160 exhibiting companies. The lineup of keynote speakers was amazing with motivation- al, inspirational, and dynamic presentations. New elements this year included Minute Mentoring, a drone seminar, social events for groups including engineers, and special anniversaries for groups including ISA+21, U.S. Marines Corps, and Women in Corporate Aviation. We ended t he conference t his year wit h a more c a su- al closing celebration dinner to allow attend- ees to continue their networking opportunities. Super Mentors and a new jobs and internships posting on our website called WAI Jobs Connect were announced in Reno as well— expanding our WAI member opportunities. WAI Jobs Con- nect allows WAI corporate members to post job and internship openings at their companies—at no charge—on our website in the Members Only section. If you're currently looking for your next career move be sure to visit WAI Jobs Connect at www.WAI.org/members/jobs-connect. Only two weeks after our annual conference in Reno, members of the WAI staff and I headed to Lakeland, Florida, for the annual Sun 'n Fun Fly- In. At our booth, we recruited new members and shared with other attendees information about the organization and its many benefits. We also hosted a lunch with well-known aviation speak- ers and enjoyed interviewing WAI members on our daily Sun 'n Fun radio show. Later in April, it was my privilege to speak at the Professional Women Controllers conference in Washington, D.C. The PWC conference will be held in Long Beach, California, next March, c oincid in g w it h our a n nu a l conference and allowing PWC members to attend a specia l PWC day at our event. Congratulations to all of our 2018 WAI scholarship winners listed here in this issue! We will be posting the 2019 scholarship opportunities on our website in early July. So, if you or someone you know could benefit from a scholarship, I encourage you to apply. Sincerely, Dr. Peggy Chabrian President P R E S I D E N T ' S L E T T E R Super Mentors and a new jobs and internships posting on our website called WAI Jobs Connect were announced in Reno. PAUL A GRUBB Janine Shepherd and I after her inspiring presentation during the Friday luncheon at WAI2018. WA I J O B S

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Aviation for Women - MAY-JUN 2018