Aviation for Women

JUL-AUG 2018

Aviation for Women is the flagship member publication of Women in Aviation International. Articles feature women who have made aviation history, professional development ideas, and current-topic articles.

Issue link: https://afwdigital.epubxp.com/i/995717

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 4 of 52

2 AviationforWomen J U L Y / A U G U S T 2 0 1 8 Membership, WAI Merchandise Sue Coon New Member Services Manager scoon@wai.org Stephanie Gordon Renewal Services Manager Conference Registration sgordon@wai.org Aviaton for Women Magazine Aviaton for Girls Magazine Kelly Murphy Director of Communications kmurphy@wai.org • 703-967-8113 Conference Kerisa Citro Director of Conferences and Events kcitro@wai.org C O N T A C T U S • P H O N E : 9 3 7 - 8 3 9 - 4 6 4 7 EducaƟon, Industry RelaƟons Cassandra Bosco Education and Industry Relations Director cbosco@wai.org • 202-415-2798 Chapters, Volunteers, Girls in AviaƟon Day Molly Martin Outreach Director mmartin@wai.org • 850-508-8769 Christine Culver Chapter Relations Specialist cculver@wai.org Art and Photography Nancy Bink Senior Art Director nbink@wai.org Scholarships, Exhibitors Donna Wallace Scholarship Coordinator/Exhibitor Coordinator dwallace@wai.org Business Development Jennifer Saddler Thomas Business Development Manager jthomas@wai.org • 740-819-0471 Everything Else Connie Lawrence Operations Manager/Executive Assistant clawrence@wai.org Dr. Peggy Chabrian President and CEO pchabrian@wai.org Connect With WAI This Summer D R . P E G G Y C H A B R I A N Dear WAI members: Our 29th annual conference is now behind us. Summertime is in full swing as this issue is head- ing your way. Your organization kicked off this summer season with a special recognition of the WASP on Memorial Day weekend. It was heart- warming to see the photos and videos many of you sent as you visited the resting places of nearly 100 WASP and to show your respect for the ser- vice they paid to our country and to recognize their place in history as the first female military pilots in the United States. In a few weeks, the annual EA A AirVenture Oshkosh fly-in and convention in Wisconsin will be in full swing. Our 24th Annual WAI Connect Breakfast held on Wednesday morning, because of continued growth, has been relocated to the Paul H. Poberezny Conference Center (PHP Tent) just outside the admission gate. For those of you who are staying at Camp Scholler that week it will be an easy walk to the breakfast—just behind the Barn and across from the Fly Market. What a great location to have a hot breakfast buffet, learn about the latest activities with your organization, catch up with friends, and meet new ones! Think- ing back to the first WAI breakfast in Oshkosh, in 1995, just months after WAI was founded, I re- call we presented a check to EAA to establish the Women in Flight display in their museum. EA A and WAI have shared a commitment to gener- al aviation and support of each other's associa- tions through efforts including Women Soar and WomenVenture now celebrating its 11th year. The fourth year for WAI's international Girls in Aviation Day program is fast approaching. This year the decision to move the date from Septem- ber to October is allowing more of our collegiate chapters to host events on their campuses. We anticipate the international growth for 2018 to be substantial based on early responses from our international chapters and corporate members wishing to host events at multiple sites around the world. Even though the program is still relatively new, with the first year in 2015, we would love to hear accounts of young people who attended one of these events as a high school student and may be now majoring in aviation at college and/or pos- sibly already working in some field of aviation. Cheers to 30 years! Our conference call for 2019 is hard to believe—how did 30 years go so quick- ly? And what a year it promises to be with prereg- istration for exhibitors already at an all-time high, dynamic speakers invited, and exciting tours be- ing planned all for you. Southern California is a great place to be in March, and Long Beach is the host to several aviation and space companies. Make your plans now to join us! Sincerely, Dr. Peggy Chabrian, President P R E S I D E N T ' S L E T T E R JERRY CHABRIAN I visited the final resting place of WASP Betty Stagg Turner, 44-W-9, in Montgomery, Ohio, on Memorial Day.

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Aviation for Women - JUL-AUG 2018